Art that Actually Makes You Happy

I have bantered back and forth in my head about art, the meaning of art, and how to recommend purchasing art for clients. When I was in art school, I hated that art “had to make a statement” or it wasn’t art. My struggle was so personal and difficult that I actually put my paints and brushes down for the last 15 years until I learned how to accept art for the process and how the end result makes you feel, not for the statement. It is unfortunate that art schools today do not value decorative arts and craft as art. Now a designer, the bottom line for me is that art should make you feel good. It seems that I personally gravitate to collage artists who bring the joy of color, words and mixed media into their works and their home. I just spotted this artist, Rebecca Vavic, on Etsy. She is an Australian mommy artist who clearly loves to collage. Her passion and expression shines in her work. Doesn’t this little owl make you smile?

For more info on Rebecca Vavic, check out her work on etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/RebeccaVavic

Leave a Reply

